Resources Help File

Si Ku Quan Shu

Alternate Title:
Wen yuan ge Si ku quan shu dian zi ban

To link to this resource use:

Database available to users on IU Bloomington Campus only Database available to users on IU Bloomington Campus only
Yale University Library
Digital Heritage Publishing Limited, Hong Kong
Chinese classics from antiquity to the 18th century

The electronic version of Si ku quan shu (Complete Library in Four Branches of Literature) was compiled during the years 1773-1782 by edict from Emperor Qianlong. It includes 3,460 works, and more than 36,000 volumes. It covers a wide range of subjects including the classics, history, literature, philosophy, geography, politics, governmental rules and regulations, economics, society, astronomy, science, technology, medicine, and more. It is the most comprehensive collection of Chinese scholarship from antiquity to the 18th century. The electronic version, developed by Digital Heritage in Hong Kong, contains full-text retrieval functions of 800 million Chinese characters.  The database also provides special features including searches by title, author, caption title, special indices, subject divisions, name and dynasty of the author, special reference tools, book marking, and note taking.

Number of Users:
Interlibrary Loan:
Not Permitted
Resource Advocate:
Liu, Wen-ling
SFX Source:
Federated Search:

IUB Library Subjects:
  • East Asian Studies
  • Religious Studies

Library of Congress Subjects:

Chinese classics.
Chinese literature.
Philosophy, Chinese.
Social Sciences--China.